Teapot

Image

This is my favourite teapot, photographed at midday on a sunny mild day.

It is some sort of steel, pressed out to make it look like a fancy china one. The handle and knob on top are made I think of Bakelite. From what I can work out it has been in the family since the 1930’s and more than once was scheduled for throwing out, I have saved it a number of times. It was the teapot we used at the caravan my parents bought in about 1960 at Llysfaen near Colwyn Bay on the North Wales Coast, and features in one of my poems. When we were there we drank Gold Crown tea, which was from Liverpool and unavailable in Stoke-on-Trent. It was perfectly matched with the local water.

Why this one? I have a few others, a Royal Albert china teapot decorated with pale pink roses; a cream coloured Wedgwood one; a traditional round brown teapot. I used to own a deep brown teapot  which held nearly 20 cups, useful when descended upon by many people. But none have brewed tea quite like this one, especially when it hasn’t been cleaned out for a couple of months. I rinse it out, but only clean when the strange filter gets too bunged up, then for a short period the tea tastes different.

I remember getting some builders in at my old house, they literally had to raise up a corner which had dropped due to a very old pipe cracking underneath. These two were well into their sixties, never seemed actually to work, but got the job done in time. They could talk about anything and everything and when my mother visited us had long talks about Stoke-on-Trent in the 30’s and 40’s, they told me they had built the original dressing rooms at Vale Park. They had a teapot with such a build up inside you only had to pour water in to get a cup of tea!

People look quite oddly at me for still using a teapot. Everyone seems to make tea in a mug/cup, that to me is one of the pointers towards the end of civilisation. Tea needs to breathe and brew, I don’t like very strong tea, but I like flavour.

My teapot is a part of me, whenever I go away I miss it, in fact I have been known to take it with me! Now writing this has made me want another cup, so sorry to the pottery industry my use for decades of a steel teapot has meant that I am not regularly buying new ones, you can blame the decline of the pottery industry on my shoulders, but this is the one for me, if I had one of those funerals where objects are put alongside the dead to take to another world, this would be one of them!

5 thoughts on “Teapot

    1. I like Twinings Everyday tea for drinking, everyday. Yes you are right, the fruit and herb teas are ok made in a mug, I did have a small china teapot for those, but somewhere along the way of life it disappeared. My mother, who was from The Potteries, always drank tea from china cups or mugs.

      Like

  1. It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and
    if I could I wish to suggest you few interesting things or tips.
    Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article.
    I wish to read more things about it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

