200 oatcakes

oatcakes

Well, this is my 200th blog on WordPress, and I feel pretty pleased with myself for getting that far! That is since January this year, when if you look back I have also tried to include photographs whether taken on that day or from my past. I also have 333 followers which I am also pleased about, so thank you for all the ‘likes’ and follows.

The blog has shown me another way of expressing myself, it has been a broad mix and an opportunity to make my novel Underpainting available. I hope anyone reading it is enjoying it and seeing that I believe the story matters little, it is just a coathanger for ideas.

Today I have decided to include a recipe for oatcakes from my mothers’ handwritten recipe book she bagan in the mid 1930’s. This she copied from The Cheadle and Tean Times in about 1969.

Oatcakes are a speciality of North Staffordshire/Stoke-on-Trent, they also reach south Cheshire and east Derbyshire. It is a  10-12 inch round thin soft wonder (the plate in the above photograph is a dinner plate). We still have oatcake shops, two or three at least in each of the towns that make up Stoke-on-Trent and they are used to wrap warmed around bacon, sausages, mushrooms, melted cheese in almost any combination. Being a ‘bit posh’ in my eating habits I have also had asparagus in them, which is delicious. Total barbarians have sweet things like bananas! I also just like them warmed with butter and rolled. They are of course a working class food, an easy way to wrap other food in then warm up in the pottery kilns. For those who haven’t tried them, think of a gallette or tortilla, but made of oats and more flavoursome. They are NOT the Scottish oatcakes which I also like but are a biscuit.

Oatcakes (makes about 6-7)

½ lb Fine oatmeal
½ lb Plain white flour
1 tsp salt 1 tsp sugar
½ oz fresh yeast
¾ ib Warm milk and water

Seive the oatmeal and flour into a warm basin. Add salt and stir. Dissolve yeast with a little of the warm liquid and add the sugar. Set aside in a warm place for it to rise.

Mix the ingredients with the yeast and the rest of the liquid to make a nice batter. Cover with a cloth and let the batter stand in a warm place for about an hour.

Pour liquid onto a well-greased bakestone or thick frying pan (medium-hot) in about 10-12 inch sized circles, turn when necessary.

6 thoughts on “200 oatcakes

  1. Lovely post… I always love family recipes. My mother-in-law kindly shared many recipes for baked goods from her mother and it would be nice to share them. You’ve inspired me! Time to get cooking!

    Like

    1. I have found that with my mothers cookbook many of the older ones have lots more sugar than my taste is nowadays, but then in the 40’s-50’s in the UK chocolate, sweets and so on were not as easy to buy, there is also a lot of lard! Try oatcakes, simple but very good especially if you like savoury things, but make sure the oatmeal is very finely ground. I have always enjoyed my visits to the US and eating local food. Family cookbooks where the source is told are invaluable parts of our history.

      Like

      1. We actually cook with lard… I don’t think it’s evil incarnate but I do believe it should be used judiciously. But we also drink full fat milk and eat real butter and cream 🙂

        I have a problem with some of my mother-in-laws recipes because they use Crisco and I don’t use vegetable shortening. So finding a reasonable substitute can be tough – both butter and lard change the consistency of the final product. I need to do some research, I think.

        Like

Leave a Reply

