The World of Leather

25october13

As I was walking to the doctors I saw this ‘still life’. The backs around me are often blighted by dumped furniture as well as the usual rubbish, the council come regularly to tidy it up, then within a few days some more appears. In the years I’ve lived around here I’ve never actually seen the process of dumping. But this is not just through the thoughtlessness and laziness of people. It costs about £15 to get just a couple of items taken away by the council, not much if you are working, a considerable sum when you’re on benefits. There is also the issue of short term leases brought in many years ago to give landlords the ability to get families out of their property. The streets around here are ever changing, many houses are let just for six or twelve months and one of the offshoots is that furniture is often discarded rather than be moved yet again. But the discarding gives interesting compositions for my artists’ eye. On my way home I saw this below which doesn’t look unlike some work I have seen in galleries.

25october132

The day began overcast and damp, then the sun came out and skies are blue with clouds rushing in and out.

Leave a Reply

