Iconic

Scanned at www.exposure22.com

This last week I’ve been watching the box set of the excellent remake of House of Cards. I was reminded of a photograph I took in DC late on a Sunday afternoon in November 1978. This is where most of the ‘action’ takes place. The image is one of the most iconic in the USA and as the clouds began to cross the sky behind the Capitol what came to mind were all the B-film UFO shots! I was there as a tourist with my brother who lived in Baltimore, his wife and her relatives, so it was hard to get away and explore. Many years later I went a few times for work purposes and liked DC very much, an odd city of contrasts. Like most tourists I was just scratching the surface, now I can see the immense possibilities for shots I missed then, but that is experience.

This was taken on my OM-1 with 50mm lens on Ektachrome 200. I had to do some touching up in Lightroom on the sky as there were scratches on the slide, I also made sure the horizontal was corrected and I increased the contrast, otherwise it is pretty well as shot and what I was probably looking for in the original.

 

 

Leave a Reply

