Branches

tree1

Today’s photographs were taken at 11am of the tree outside my back gate. I was trying to get the drips on the black branches (second from bottom photograph), but it just wouldn’t work. However I could see similar images of the branches etched against the thick wet white sky, that I found in my 42 year old art school sketchbook. So I took about 20 and chose these three. It was chilly with a fine rain, winter has come quickly, the bottom photograph was taken just a month ago, the tree is now bare. I worked on the photographs a little bit, I had shot them square, but increased the contrast, blacks and whites in Lightroom. The white plastic tube is part of an almost permanent nest in the tree.

tree2

tree3

tree4

tree5

5 thoughts on “Branches

    1. Thank you, I didn’t think it worked how I wanted, needed a plainer background and probably needed to get on some step ladders to get closer rather than use the zoom, but others are usually better judges especially when they like them!

      Like

      1. I think any artistic self-expression requires so much stripped emotion, those things become similar, of the same core, coming from the urge to create.
        Have a great day!

        Like

Leave a Reply

