Brandt’s footsteps

brandt

It isn’t often in Stoke-on-Trent that you can take a photograph in the same place as one of Britain’s finest photographers. In 1937 Bill Brandt took some photographs in the Burslem area of the city. Today I was waiting for a friend in her car and realised that we were parked just a few yards away from where Bill Brandt took the picture below of ‘Burslem’ Church.

brandtchurch

brandtbw

To be precise it was actually Longport and Dale Hall Church, St.Paul’s Parish Church, which was knocked down in the early 1970’s and what looks like glorified sheds put in its place. The original gate posts and roadside wall are still there, trees have grown and the very close community has rather scattered now. I didn’t have my camera with me just my phone, so I took the above image in roughly the same place, cars were parked closely so it was hard to get in the exact spot. Then when I worked on it on Lightroom, I converted it to black and white, cropping it and adjusting. I’ll go back and try and get an exact positioning with my camera, but it was nice to walk in the footsteps of greatness!

This link is interesting on Brandt’s working methods  http://www.vam.ac.uk/content/articles/b/working-methods-bill-brandt/

A link about St.Paul’s Church http://www.thepotteries.org/photo_wk/072.htm

Leave a Reply

