Ancient History

Checkley71

Looking through some boxes I found this print, the negative has long since been lost. It is from late Spring 1971, I’d have been just 17. It is taken from our garden in Checkley a village near Stoke-on-Trent, my father had retired and we moved there in 1970. The cottage was next door to the cricket club; the well mown grass is to the right. I think this will almost certainly have been taken towards a project at Leek School of Art, probably early morning as I used to have to start off at 7.20am and catch 3 buses to get to Leek by about 8.50, I often wouldn’t get home until 9pm. There was often mist in the valley when I left home, though through the winter it was dark and on the odd occasion the bus driver didn’t see me waiting! But over three years going to Leek I only missed 4-5 days, I remember it as a thoroughly enjoyable formative time. It’s a bit out of focus and the camera I was using at that time was an old family one which was not great quality for landscapes, I got a Zenith SLR a few months later.

Leave a Reply

