Ancient History 2

Checkley72a

 

In yesterday’s blog Ancient History, I put an old colour photo of this scene. Today’s comes from autumn 1971 and shows the mist in the valley I mentioned, taken probably in the morning before I went off to Leek School of Art. I had my Zenith E by then, so this is sharper, and looking at those images from that time I am quite surprised how good the built in light meter was, much derided by one tutor as it was just above the lens! I would have developed and printed this and it has lasted very well, must have had well mixed fixer! If I remember I turned this into a painting, and somewhere I may even have a photo of that. I was bad about keeping things, so this survives courtesy of my mother and I found a whole pile of my stuff after she’d died in 2005. Glad she did and it perhaps shows that we should keep stuff. This is a scan from a print, the negative long destroyed.

Leave a Reply

