Strawberry 2014

strawberry1

Through 2013 I put on this blog photographs of a strawberry plant which had attached itself to the wall of my ‘garden’. I quite expected it to die off over the winter, but far from it and this photograph from yesterday shows it flourishing! What it lives off I haven’t a clue. The wall is not in a great state of repair so water is probably seeping through the brickwork. If I tried to grow this on the dust that makes up my ‘garden’ it would die in a few days. We had one of the mildest winters I can remember, probably only 5-6 days of frost if that, almost no snow, plenty of rain. So like last year I will follow this plants’ progress and hopefully later in the year eat a few super sweet wild strawberries.

Leave a Reply

