Hinterland

Scanned at www.exposure22.com

A few old photos today. Watching the excellent Hinterland on BBC4 reminded me of the photographs I took where some of the stories took place. Borth is a particular favourite place, set between marshes and the sea and the hills behind on the Welsh coast north of Aberystwyth, a strange lost place which a train company once tried to make a seaside resort. The top image was once the site of a large hotel. Also, Devil’s Bridge, where successive bridges have been built on top of each other over a deep chasm, the picture is a bit post-cardy and one day I’d like to go back and explore both places again. I’ve put a couple of these on this site before so forgive the repeat but I have always felt the Borth images captured what I was looking for with these and must get more copied from the slides. The Borth ones were taken in Autumn 1979 and I think the Devil’s Bridge photograph in 1981, on my old OM-1 using Ektachrome 200, probably using a 38mm lens I had as well as the standard 50mm.

Scanned at www.exposure22.com

borth794

Scanned at www.exposure22.com

Scanned at www.exposure22.com

Leave a Reply

