San Francisco January 1979

I was talking to a friend over the weekend about a visit I made in early January 1979 to San Francisco, so here are a few ‘holiday snaps’ I did a long time ago. It makes me think what I would do now? Would I still take these generalised photographs, a sort of ‘I’ve been there’ image? It is hard to take more interesting images when you first visit a place, though perhaps using digital would help, I was 24 when I took these, I was travelling all over the US by train, cash was tight and using slide film the cheapest way of photographing. These were taken on an Olympus OM-1 using a standard 1.4 50mm lens on Ektachrome 200. Now I often take a couple of hundred images of just a short street, however, would I have ‘experienced’ the place so much if I had constantly been photographing it? I liked the winter light in SF, I’d love to go back but doubt I will ever have the funds to do so. Some of these have been up on my blog before.

Scanned at www.exposure22.com

Scanned at www.exposure22.com

Scanned at www.exposure22.com

Scanned at www.exposure22.com

Scanned at www.exposure22.com

Leave a Reply

