van

Tracking shot 1978

This afternoon instead of doing what I should have done, or take advantage of the beautiful spring sun, I watched Pride, which I thoroughly enjoyed and moved me to tears of pride, set during the Miner’s Strike in Wales in 1984, and at that time I was working on a photography project with young offenders in Maerdy Miners Welfare Hall, the heart of the strike, as well as film projects with young people and unemployed. Pride featured many vans, especially old Ford Transits, and amongst the photographs I found at my mother’s when clearing her house was this from when I shot a film called Home and Away. This was in 1978, the budget was limited so when I wanted a tracking shot, George on camera was in the drivers’ seat, somehow next to him Marty was driving the Transit van hired from Barry Van Hire, and Declan on sound was in the passenger seat, I think I can also see Anne who was doing all the timing and script help just behind them. I am in the white jacket directing and John acting. The photograph was probably taken by Alan who is the only one not in the picture! Hmm, interesting and good times long ago…

van

Leave a Reply

