Ancient history…

This is a bit of my ancient history! Last week I put up Tim Diggles as… 4, which remade a photograph of Ben Nicholson. I mentioned how much he had influenced me. This photo (which is a really bad colour print) I found amongst my mother’s things after she died, is of a picture I made in 1972, I was 17 or 18. I had really only seen Nicholson’s work in photographs, until later I didn’t realise the importance of the surface textures. This relief was made in wood, and if I remember correctly about 5ft (150cm) across with a 3″ depth, and a 6″ turned half ‘ball’ mirroring the circle. It was painted rather flat white, I think I was exploring moving lines and shapes. A long time ago and I’m pleased my mother kept the photograph but wonder why the quality is so poor.

timpic72

One thought on “Ancient history…

Leave a Reply

