londoneuston1

London visit 1

Over the weekend I visited a good friend in London and went to a few exhibitions, spent a fortune on travelling around and did a lot of talking. The Deutsche Borse Photography Prize exhibition at The Photographers Gallery had remarkable images and writing from Zanele Muholi reflecting the LGBTI community in South Africa, stunning, sad and moving. Mikhael Subotzky and Patrick Waterhouse‘s huge images of Ponte City in Johannesburg were amazing. So I would urge anyone to get there to see it. On Saturday I went to Dulwich Picture Gallery for the first time (why had I never been before?) to see the Eric Ravilious show, his work was so fantastic in its drawing, colour, design, this is a beautiful show, I love his work. Dulwich Picture Gallery has a fine and not too large collection of work, I loved Poussins David with Goliath’s head, reminded me of Euston station which I photographed below! But most stunning was a small Rembrandt portrait. I want to go again! On Sunday we visited the V&A Museum, it was great being taken around the 16th-17th Century galleries looking at gloves, mittens, clothes, weavings and tapestries, as she is an expert on these things and explained how the clothes were constructed and the techniques, she is making work based on a doublet. We then took a lift aiming for another department and by mistake ended up in the ceramics, which were quite amazing to see how they were exhibited. I never saw what I went there for but the V&A is somewhere you can just wander around and it doesn’t really matter as it is all fascinating. I found a few doors, windows, crowds, shapes, colours in some photographs I took on my phone and I will put a few more up tomorrow.

londondoor3

londoneuston1

londonoxfordst

londonphotog1

londondoor1

londonphotog3

londonva1

londonva3

londonva6

londonwisteria

Leave a Reply

