Job Focussed Interview

A fairly quickly written new poem for performance one day…

 

Job Focussed Interview

I was summoned to a Job Focussed Interview
In a building where no jobs were on offer

An efficient woman asked me
What would you like to do Mr Reed?

I want to be the man who no-one wants to sit beside on the bus
I want to be the man who shouts ‘Piss Off’ to everyone in the street
I want to be the man who tells you the Government is watching you through your TV
I want to be the outcast in society

The efficient woman said
That isn’t a job

Someone has to do it I replied
Someone has to shoulder social decay for others
Someone has to confirm how boring peoples’ lives are
Someone has to take the brunt of a nations’ anger

The efficient woman made some notes
And handed me an appointment for an interview at Poundland

Next!
The efficient woman shouted

 

Tim Diggles 2015

Leave a Reply

