Shakespearian Klee Twigs

Today is a bright sunny cool Spring day. So I planned some more Klee Twigs, using the wind as I wanted the glinting green of the new leaves. What I planned didn’t fully work, so a couple of photographs, one using three images shot within milliseconds of each other. Today is also the 400th anniversary of Shakespeare’s death in 1616, he is one of my favourites and there is so much to choose from. Below is a song from Twelfth Night which I like for its beauty and bleakness, quite remarkably sung by Elvis Costello.

kleetwigsspring1

Come away, come away, death,
    And in sad cypress let me be laid.
Fly away, fly away, breath;
    I am slain by a fair cruel maid.
My shroud of white, stuck all with yew,
             O, prepare it!
My part of death, no one so true
         Did share it.
Not a flower, not a flower sweet,
    On my black coffin let there be strown.
Not a friend, not a friend greet
    My poor corpse, where my bones shall be thrown.
A thousand thousand sighs to save,
             Lay me, O, where
Sad true lover never find my grave,
             To weep there!

kleetwigsspring2

One thought on “Shakespearian Klee Twigs

Leave a Reply

