Walking to Town 2 – The A50

The second of my four Walking to Town set of pictures, follows my walk down High Street, Tunstall, which is the A50, a long road which crosses England from Leistershire to Merseyside, this is half a mile of it. I decided to leave the house by my side gate at about 9.30pm, and attempt to capture the feel of late evening just before it gets dark. Initially I planned to present the images in black and white, ‘stitching’ them together in a panoramic format. But as I was working on them it became clear that colour picked up the feeling of the dusk, the harsh soft lights, deep shadows, dark corners, despite the grain of the images. They are still in panoramic and the automatic joining of 2-3 images has led to some odd bits which don’t quite match or cut things off, I’ve left these as Tunstall feels a bit like that.

I begin at my gate and turn the corner onto High Street, as I walk down it changes from houses on one side and industrial buildings the other, to small shops, the 19th Century parish church, take-aways, a pub and then into town proper, with boarded up shops alongside what is left of what was once a thriving town centre. I end in Tower Square and the clock tower alongside the brave attempts to improve the environment.

wita501

wita502

wita503

wita504

wita505

wita506

wita507

wita508

wita509

wita5010

wita5011

wita5012

wita5013

wita5014

wita5015

wita5016

wita5017

wita5018

wita5019

wita5020

wita5021

wita5022

Leave a Reply

