Looking Out or In?

It will take a while to see things in my ‘new’ house. The 50+ images in Flat Life came after 5 years living in the flat and as a ‘poem’ to illustrate depression. These three images are looking out including a self-portrait of me outside my front door (the ‘nets’ image influenced by Josef Sudek, if you don’t know his work have a look, well worth it!). This house is probably the most built up environment I have lived in, most places I have lived have had open spaces in front or behind or around – factory, sky, sea, fields, the River Taff, hills, fenland, parks, churchyard; here the distance is blocked, geometric – I have become interested in the lines, the hidden behind, which I am sure will develop in time – maybe (heaven forbid) even in paintings. Is a photograph/painting/drawing from inside an exterior or an interior?

thruthewindow1

thruthewindow2

thruthewindow3

Leave a Reply

